Uber & Lyft Accidents in Colorado


Rideshare services such as Uber and Lyft have become a popular mode of transportation in cities and towns throughout the United States. Whether you need a ride home after a night out or get dropped off at the airport in the early morning, you simply request a ride through a phone app and a driver will pick you up in several minutes to take you to your destination. These services are generally more accessible and affordable than taking a taxi. 

However, like any vehicle on the roads or highways, there is a possibility of being involved in a car accident and even suffering an injury. So, what are your legal options if you are injured in an Uber or Lyft accident in Colorado? 

According to the Transportation Network Company Act (TNCA), Uber and Lyft are considered “transportation network companies” that basically use an app or digital network to connect users and drivers, as opposed to traditional industries like taxi services. Such companies are subject to certain regulations, which include carrying insurance coverage in the event of a crash. 

If an Uber or Lyft driver causes a crash, the type of liability coverage available to injured parties depends on the driver’s status at the time of the collision, which includes the following situations below. 

The Driver Did Not Log into the App  

When an Uber or Lyft driver is not logged into the app at the time of the accident, this means they are driving on personal time, instead of working for the company. In this case, the injured party must file a claim through the driver’s personal insurance policy.  

Under Colorado’s fault-based insurance laws, drivers must carry a minimum of $25,000 in bodily damage coverage per person, $50,000 in bodily damage coverage per accident, and $15,000 for property damage. If the driver does not carry insurance or lacks enough money to cover the accident and the resulting injuries, the injured party may rely on his/her uninsured motorist (UM) and/or underinsured motorist (UIM) coverage or file a personal injury lawsuit against the driver. 

The Driver is Logged in But Waiting for a Passenger 

The TNCA states that ridesharing services must provide primary insurance coverage when their drivers are logged into the app. This shows an Uber or Lyft driver is working at the time of the accident. 

If a person is injured by either Uber or Lyft driver who has yet to accept a ride, both companies provide up to $50,000 for bodily injury per person, $100,000 for bodily injury per crash, and $25,000 for property damage. This insurance policy takes effect if the rideshare driver causes the collision and his/her own insurance fails to cover all of the injured party’s losses. 

The Driver Picks Up a Passenger or is on the Way to Pick Up a Passenger 

Whether an Uber or Lyft driver is carrying a passenger or is en route to pick up an accepted ride, both companies provide up to $1 million in liability coverage per accident. This policy covers passengers, a driver or pedestrian that was struck by an Uber or Lyft driver while a passenger is in the vehicle or was on the way to pick up a passenger. 

Injured in an Uber or Lyft Accident in Colorado? 

The complexities involving liability and different insurance policies make it difficult to obtain a reasonable settlement or award, which is why it is best to have an experienced personal injury attorney handle your case. At the Law Office of Joseph A. Lazzara, P.C., we are committed to maximizing your entitled compensation. 

Contact us today at (720) 809-8262 for a free initial consultation. Serving clients in Denver, Adams, Jefferson, Douglas, Arapahoe Counties.