"Joe Lazzara has the personal touch that sets him apart from other attorneys." -Tom Martino
Free Consultations Available 720.809.8262
Fight Your DUI Charges With an Experienced Attorney Aggressive, Hard-Hitting Counsel on Your Side

Arapahoe County DUI Defense Lawyer

First Time DUI Offense in Denver and Surrounding Areas

Getting charged with DUI or a related offense is very serious, and if you are convicted, you could face very serious consequences. Hiring a Arapahoe County DUI lawyer right away is in your best interest. As a seasoned trial attorney, I have represented clients in criminal cases throughout my tenure. That’s why you should call the Law Offices of Joseph A. Lazzara, P.C.

I have argued cases in the various appellate courts in Colorado and have been instrumental in creating new law. Throughout the 25+ years I have been in practice, I have distinguished myself as a litigator by successfully representing thousands of individuals who have been arrested for alcohol-related crimes.

Criminal & Civil Hearings with DUI

A DUI in Colorado will typically involve two separate legal proceedings:

  • The criminal part that is concerned with prosecution
  • The civil aspect that is concerned with the Colorado Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) and revocation of the accused individual’s driver's license

Driving under the influence of alcohol means the accused driver had a BAC of 0.08% or higher. However, Colorado also recognizes “driving while ability impaired by alcohol” (DWAI), which typically requires a BAC of between 0.05% and 0.08%. A person can be convicted of DUI if he or she is “substantially affected by alcohol, drugs or a combination of the two,” or DWAI if the person is “affected by alcohol, drugs, or a combination of the two to the slightest degree.”

A first offense DUI conviction can result in the following consequences:

  • Three-month suspension of driver's license
  • Adding twelve (12) points to a driver’s license
  • Alcohol abuse treatment program
  • Use of an ignition interlock device
  • Incarceration period of five days to one year
  • Fines ranging from $600 to $1,000

Want to meet with a Denver DUI defense lawyer? Call my firm at (720) 809-8262 to set up a free consultation.

Fighting for the Results You Need

  • “He handled my case with compassion, and was very experienced and confident in the courtroom. He is a straight shooter and someone you can trust.”

    Former Client

  • “I was shocked that he was available so quickly. He was very reasonable for his services.”

    Former Client

  • “Both he and his office staff were great at communication and fighting for the best outcome and have continued to assist with any additional questions.”

    Heather

  • “You can count on him to be well prepared, knowing the laws specifically applicable for defending your case.”

    Susan

  • “He never gave up on me, knew the law and facts were on my side and was brilliant in the courtroom.”

    Patty